Jump to content

Powerwash: Performing a Factory Reset on Your HP Chromebook or Chromebox (Chrome OS)

  • PrintPrint
This document applies to HP Chromebook or Chromebox with Chrome OS.
Powerwash, also known as factory reset, restores the original factory settings on your HP Chromebook, removes all associated Google Accounts (including the owner), and erases all local data from the hard drive. Locally saved files, saved networks, and owner account permissions are deleted for all accounts. If possible, back up important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before using Powerwash on the Chromebook. The Google Accounts themselves, and any data synced to the Web through your Google Drive, are not affected by Powerwash.
Use the steps in this document to reset your HP Chromebook by performing a Powerwash.

Resetting your device using Powerwash

View a video on resetting your Chromebook using Powerwash

Use the following steps to reset your Chromebook or Chromebox to its original factory state using Powerwash:
CAUTION:All data saved on your device hard drive (local storage) is deleted when you use Powerwash. Back up all important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the device.
  1. Click the status area of the taskbar, and then click Settings.
    Figure 1: Settings
    Status area menu with Settings selected
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the Settings page and click Show advanced settings.
  3. In the Powerwash section, click Powerwash.
    Figure 2: Powerwash
    Powerwash button in the Powerwash section of the Settings page
  4. Click Restart to begin resetting the Chromebook.
    Figure 3: Restart
    Restart your device
After Powerwash is complete, perform the initial setup by following the steps in the HP support document Setting Up Your Chromebook .

Resetting your Chromebook or Chromebox from the sign-in screen

It is not necessary to sign in to a Google Account before using Powerwash. Use the following steps to reset your Chromebook to its original factory state without signing in to an account:
CAUTION:All data saved on your Chromebook's hard drive (local storage) is deleted when you use Powerwash. Back up all important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the Chromebook.
  1. On the sign-in screen, hold down the Ctrl + Alt + Shift + R keys.
  2. In the Powerwash your Chrome device window, click Reset.
After Powerwash is complete, perform the initial setup by following the steps in the HP support document Setting Up Your Chromebook .

HP Support forums

Find solutions and collaborate with others on the HP Support Forum
HP.comHP on FacebookHP on TwitterHP on YouTubeHP on Linked InHP on FlickrHP on Google+