Jump to content

Performing a Factory Reset on Your HP Slate 7 Tablet (Android 4.1/Jelly Bean)

  • PrintPrint
This document applies to HP Slate 7 tablets with Android 4.1/Jelly Bean operating system.
Resetting your HP tablet restores the original factory settings, removing all stored Google Accounts and erasing all stored data. All locally saved files, apps, and saved networks are deleted. If possible, back up important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the tablet (refer to the HP support document Transferring and Backing Up Files on Your HP Tablet for more information). The Google Accounts themselves, and any data synced to the Web, are not affected by a reset.
You can reset the tablet with the power turned off or on. If the tablet boots normally and you are able to access the settings menu, use the steps in Resetting your HP tablet with the tablet powered on . If the tablet does not boot normally, or if you do not remember the tablet's lock screen password, use the steps in Resetting your HP tablet with the tablet powered off .

View of video on performing a factory reset on your HP tablet (Android 4.1/Jelly Bean)

(in English)

Resetting your HP tablet with the tablet powered on

If the tablet boots normally and you are able to access the settings menu, use the steps in this section to reset your tablet to its original factory state. If you are unable to use these steps, see Resetting your HP tablet with the tablet powered off for instructions to reset your tablet from the Android system recovery menu.
CAUTION:All data saved on your device is deleted when you perform a factory reset. All apps are uninstalled. Data stored in your Google Account can be restored. Back up all important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the tablet. Refer to the HP support document Transferring and Backing Up Files on Your HP Tablet for more information.
  1. From the Home screen, touch the All apps icon, and then touch the Settings icon.
  2. In the Personal section, touch Backup & reset.
    Figure 1: Backup & reset
    Backup & reset
  3. Touch Factory data reset.
    Figure 2: Factory data reset
    Factory data reset
  4. Touch Reset tablet.
    Figure 3: Reset tablet
    Reset tablet
  5. If you set a lock screen password for your tablet, enter your password when prompted.
  6. The screen displays Erase all your personal information and downloaded apps? You can't reverse this action! Touch Erase everything to confirm and begin the reset.
  7. The tablet powers off and a recovery system screen shows the reset process. When the reset is complete, the tablet reboots. Set up the tablet by following the steps in the HP support document Setting Up Your HP Tablet .

Resetting your HP tablet with the tablet powered off

If the tablet does not boot normally, or if you do not remember the lock screen password, it may be necessary to perform a reset without turning on the tablet. Use the steps in this section to reset the tablet from the Android system recovery menu:
CAUTION:All data saved on your device is deleted when you perform a factory reset. All apps are uninstalled. Data stored in your Google Account can be restored. Back up all important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the tablet. Refer to the HP support document Transferring and Backing Up Files on Your HP Tablet for more information.
  1. With the tablet powered off, press and hold the volume down, volume up, and power buttons at the same time.
  2. When an HP logo appears on the screen, release the buttons.
    After a few seconds, the Android system recovery menu appears.
  3. Use the volume down button to move the highlighted selection to wipe data/factory reset.
    NOTE:The touch screen is disabled when the tablet is in recovery mode. Use the volume up and volume down buttons to navigate up or down in the recovery menu, and use the power button to make a selection.
    Figure 4: wipe data/factory reset
    wipe data/factory reset highlighted in Android system recovery menu
  4. Press the power button to select.
  5. The screen displays Confirm wipe of all user data? THIS CAN NOT BE UNDONE. Use the volume down button to move the highlight down to Yes -- delete all user data.
    Figure 5: Confirm wipe of all user data
    Confirm wipe of all user data
  6. Press the power button to confirm and begin the reset.
  7. A recovery system screen shows the reset process. Wait for the reset process to complete.
  8. When the screen says Data wipe complete, highlight reboot system now, and then press the power button to select.
    Figure 6: reboot system now
    reboot system now
    Wait for the tablet to reboot.
  9. Set up the tablet by following the steps in the HP support document Setting Up Your HP Tablet .

HP Support forums

Find solutions and collaborate with others on the HP Support Forum
HP.comHP on FacebookHP on TwitterHP on YouTubeHP on Linked InHP on FlickrHP on Google+