Jump to content

HP Photo Creations Software support

HP Photo Creation FAQs

  • PrintPrint

Introduction

This document answers some of the most frequently asked questions about HP Photo Creation Software.
No. Your computer file system and file type extensions do not change. Your computer performs the same way it did before installing the software.
Follow these steps to uninstall the software.
    1. Click Start, and then click Control Panel. The Control Panel displays.
    2. Double-click Add or Remove Programs. A list of programs installed on your computer displays.
    3. Click HP Photo Creations Software, and then click Change/Remove.
    4. Follow the on-screen instructions to uninstall the software.
    1. Click the Windows icon (), and then click Control Panel.
    2. Access the program list:
      • Control Panel Home view: Under Programs, click Uninstall a Program.
      • Classic view: Double-click Programs and Features.
    3. Click HP Photo Creations Software in the program list, and then click Uninstall.
    4. Wait for the uninstall process to complete, and then choose the option to restart your computer later.
    1. Click the Windows icon (), click Control Panel, and then click Programs and Features.
    2. Right-click HP Photo Creations Software in the program list, and then click Uninstall.
    3. Follow the on-screen instructions to uninstall the software.
    1. Double-click the Macintosh hard drive from the desktop.
    2. Click Applications, and then click the Hewlett-Packard folder.
    3. Double-click HP Uninstaller. The HP Uninstaller displays.
    4. Click Continue.
    5. Click HP Photo Creations Software, and then click Uninstall.
    6. Type the administrator name and password when you are prompted, and then click OK.
    7. When the uninstall process is complete, click and drag any icons for the printer to the Trash.
After you have loaded photos, two options appear: Use Smart Arrangement and Build this Project Manually. Select Build this Project Manually to access the layout view to manually places the photos from the Unused tab.
You can upload .bmp, .gif, .png, and .jpg file formats to use in your photo creations.
To add more photos to your project, they must be added from within the Product User Interface.
  1. Click Add Photos.
  2. Select the location you would like to import your photos from (ex. computer).
  3. Click Continue.
    New photos can be found in the Unused Photos panel.
At this time, layouts for collage projects support a maximum of eight elements, which includes photos, placeable graphics, and text boxes.
Transferring a design takes each layout you have created in your project and copies them to another collage product of your choice. Perhaps you would like to order a set of coffee mugs using some of your favorite photo book pages. After transferring the design from your photo book project to the mugs product, you will instantly be presented with an array of coffee mugs, each displaying a page from your photo book. Be aware when transferring one product to another with different aspect ratios, you might need to make some adjustments to the transferred layouts before ordering. For example, the transfer from a portrait-oriented photo book to a landscape oriented photo book will not be precise.
Selecting photos is used by Smart Arrangement layouts. When you de-select a photo, it does not remove them from your project. If you want fewer photos in your Unused Photos tab, be more selective when initially importing a batch of photos.
Broken thumbnail icons appear in the Unused Photos tab if the file is not longer available. For example, if you imported photos from an SD card, you might need to re-insert the SD card when you open the project again.
Photos are sorted based on the Smart Arrangement Technology. This technology groups photos according to when the photos were uploaded. Smart Arrangement Technology also shows which photos might fit well together.
If the preview is too small, maximize the program window to create a larger preview. If the preview is still too small, switch to Large of Full mode by clicking the buttons below the preview screen. Large mode expands your view of the layout, but limits design control. Full mode shows your layouts on the complete screen. Full mode does not support layout editing.
Click and drag a spread to another position on the storyboard. To move single pages, click the padlock icon on the storyboard to unlock the page spread.
When you use the Replace feature, the software shows the default border for the theme variation you selected. To change the border, select the Touch-Up tab, and then click Photo Border from the Select Category menu.
Running automatic backup software can move files. You might have inadvertently moved the files to another location or renamed them as well. The software does not erase the contents of your Saved Project folder.
No. Altering or editing files from saved projects is not recommended or supported. If you attempt to alter a project with third-party software, your project could be damaged.
Yes. You can copy the files from any saved project to CD, DVD, or other removable media, such as a USB flash drive. You can begin a project on one computer and complete it on another.
The amount of bleed allowed varies by product. If you are unsure how much space is good for your product, use ¼ inch bleed. HP recommends that all images remain within the photo safe area.
The Photo Safe Area can be seen on your layout when moving around photos and graphics. The boundary represents the area within your layout that is considered safe for editing.
NOTE:Elements that exceed this boundary might be trimmed during production.
Each time you create a product and return to the catalog, it will be listed under My Product. This is convenient and allows for you to work on several different projects without having to start over each time. In addition, they will all be retained when saving your project.
When you create a project and return to the Catalog, each project is listed in the My Project list. This feature allows you to work on multilple projects without starting over each time. Individual project settings are retained when you save projects.
When an image is printed to the physical edge of the paper, it is called a full-bleed print. The image bleed varies by product. When you move images on the collage, a dashed outline appears to indicate the photo safe area. If there is text or graphics outside this area, these sections might be cut off. This is especially true with photo wrap covers on books.
Photo books typically take four to seven business days to produce, plus shipping time. Other products typically take two to four business days to produce, plus shipping time.
NOTE:Business days exclude weekends and holidays. Delivery times for international orders and orders placed during peak holiday seasons might be longer.
Yes. The software establishes a secure SSL connection with our e-commerce servers. This secure connection sends customer payment and order information through a secure web browser to the financial institutions.
Most coupon codes may only be used once. Try inputting the code again and click the Apply button. If it still does not work, we recommend you contact customer support before placing the order.
HP Photo Creations Software

HP Support forums

Find solutions and collaborate with others on the HP Support Forum
HP.comHP on FacebookHP on TwitterHP on YouTubeHP on Linked InHP on FlickrHP on Google+